• Shop Indie Bookstores
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

Diversiverse 2015: I’m doing it, and you should too!

I just signed up to participate in Aarti’s 2015 Diversiverse Challenge for the second year. Basically, the idea behind Diversiverse is for bloggers and other readers to increase the visibility of authors of color in all genres, by reading one book written by a person of color, and posting a review of it between October 4th and 17th. Your review can be on your blog, if applicable, or through a system like Goodreads or even Amazon, as long as you’re able to link it back to Aarti’s site.

I had a great time with this event last year. I read two books: Ash, by Malinda Lo, and Sister Mine, by Nalo Hopkinson. And since doing it, I’ve found myself eyeing the bookshelves when I walk into a store looking for books by authors I might not have heard of to add to my list. Aarti’s challenge led me to think more about picking diverse books off the shelf, which prompted me to check out Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings, and Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes, and Nnedi Okorafor’s Who Fears Death (all books I’m glad I read). For this year’s challenge, I think I’m going to try to read and review 3 or 4 books, and to choose authors whose work I’m not familiar with in hopes of finding more people to add to my “must read” list.

I hope you’ll join me! If you’re interested, go to the Diversiverse link above to sign up.

Leave a comment

What do you think?

